Brad is Blogging

So, why am I starting a blog?  Previously, any time I have considered it, I would ask myself, “Why would you start a blog?”  And I would usually answer, “I don’t know.  Let’s play video games.”  And then my internal voices would argue leaving the shell of my body staring catatonically at a wall while I drool on myself.  This is how I spend much of my day.

I think the reason I finally got off my duff and started doing this… well, actually I’m ON my duff doing this… is that I have recently been inspired by a powerful bout of self reflection.  I have always been this way, but few times to this extent.  I have often regretted not chronicling my thoughts during these storms of introspection, as I have had many interesting thoughts and conversations within that I wish I could look back on and laugh at.  My deep thoughts frequently warrant ridicule.

While this reflectivity has provided the match to light the fuse, there are many other factors that have built the blog fuse.  Sometimes I create analogies that don’t make any sense.  I am at a point in my life that I love.  I have lived enough years now that I can say I have obtained some measure of wisdom, but I haven’t lived so long that I am completely out of touch with society.  Looking back fifteen years, I was a 20-year old kid with no children and more energy and more hair and without a clue.  Looking ahead fifteen years, I will be a 50-year old man with three teenagers and no energy and no hair and without a clue.  I am standing in the middle of the bridge that connects two completely different lives I have/will lived/live.  Sometimes it’s strange to be there in the middle.  Part of me is still that immature kid.  So carefree.  Ridiculously silly.  Naively idealistic.  Alarmingly ignorant.  Alarmingly handsome.  And part of me has crossed over to the conservative, stodgy old man I am becoming.  I imagine it is a rope bridge.  And being right in the middle, it swings the hardest here.  With every little breeze, it rocks and creaks.  Sometimes I wish the plank I’m standing on would just fall away and…  Sometimes I take analogies too far.

I have often used writing as a means to escape, but also as a means to engage.  This seems like a neat way to do both!  I escape into my head and play for a while; then I share what ever thing comes out with those of you who dare to be subjected to it.  What can we expect?  I don’t know.  It may be a story, or a poem, or a song, an observation, a proposal… anything that comes to mind.  There will likely be mindless ramblings, made up words, pop culture references that I understand… I am becoming more aware of how out of touch I am becoming with today’s pop culture as there is apparently some important person named Justin Bieber, and he has created some controversy with his hair, as evidenced by my wife screaming at him on the TV, “WHAT IS UP WITH YOUR HAIR?!?!  WHY DO YOU KEEP FLIPPING YOUR HEAD LIKE THAT?!?!”…. oh, there will also be run-on sentences.  And multiple digressions.  This is my blog, after all.

Some things may be controversial.  I have always been one who feels that no topic is off limits.  If something is thought of, it can be spoken of.  To avoid a topic is to avoid learning and growing.  That’s not to say that I’m gonna get all crazy philosophical on y’all, or anything.  If you know me, you know I can only stay serious for so long.  For instance, while mowing the lawn today, I found myself thinking about garden management and weed-killing options one second, and the next second, I was contemplating what I would decide if I had to choose between only ever having the front half of my wiener erect, or the back half.  I can’t even fathom the chain of thoughts that somehow bridged those brainstorms.  I never could decide, by the way.

As long as I’m being honest, I also enjoy humoring myself.  Sometimes I don’t know what in the world is going to end up on the screen when I start tapping away, and I want to find out.  As I mentioned earlier, I am one who frequently digresses.  This is both fun and frustrating.  It was darn-near crippling during my school years, but also sometimes saved me when the stress was strangling me.  Every once in a while, I’ll jot down some ideas that humor me, or intrigue me on some level, with the intent to write more about it later.  Having a blog may be the outlet for those ideas.  Oh, and they are stupid ideas, make no mistake about that!  But they are stupid ideas that were birthed in my head.  Nasty, vernix-covered stupid ideas conceived from two idiotic concepts.

And lastly, I chose to start writing a blog to save the children.  Because I felt there needed to be one honorable reason.  Even if it makes no sense.

So please feel free to jump on that rope bridge with me and give it a swing.  Maybe we’ll get a good scream out of it!…. us.. not the bridge.  Never mind.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Brad is Blogging

  1. Tawna says:

    I await with great anticipation 🙂

  2. Jeanne says:

    I dig it! Keep going!

  3. joely says:

    you crack me up brad…you are the perfect person to be writing and I await many more posts!

  4. tyler says:

    thanks for the good laugh, I needed it. BTW, I would say the front half, but my wife says the back half…

Leave a Reply

