Star Wars vs LotR Closing Statement

Boy, am I glad this thing is over.  And judging by the number of people that now read this blog, so are you.  The only people who have happened upon my blog lately are those who accidentally found it by looking for pictures on Google.  And my dad.  There’s a section in my blog management that tells me key words people typed to find my blog, and someone who found my blog used the search criteria “picture of woman strangled”.  It’s nice to know that my last two fans are my dad and a potential serial killer… unless it was my dad who did that search, which would mean I only have one fan.  Thanks, Dad.  You may be a creepy internet stalker serial killer, but I still love you for reading my blog.

When I embarked on this Star Wars vs Lord of the Rings thing, I truly did not intend for it to spin out of control like it did.  I was just offering a rational argument as to why I believe LotR was a better movie series than Star Wars.  Somewhere along the way the ‘rational’ and the ‘argument’ parts kind of dissolved away, leaving an insane meshing of the two stories.  I lost myself in this vortex and came to the realization that I probably love both franchises equally.  But I started this argument, so I’m gonna finish it.

I began by comparing the stories, the production, the metaphysical powers, and the memorable moments.  I realize now that I failed to acknowledge the brilliant music in each movie under the production section.  Both are fantastic and perfectly capture the moods of each movie, but I clearly have to give the nod to John Williams’ classic score.  Nothing in LotR beats the Imperial March theme.. especially when it’s performed like this.

..And then I got to the characters.  I love the characters in both and didn’t know a good way to resolve an argument as to which was better.  So I thought it would be fun to have a silly series of death matches between common protagonists and antagonists in the movies and see who comes out on top.  I originally planned it only to be a series of matches that stood alone from one another, but it got pretty convoluted along the way turned into a weird sort of story.  On the surface, it appears that Star Wars won the characters debate.  There were thirteen matches and Star Wars won seven of them.  Brad Denny (with whom I am having this imaginary debate) always used to cite statistics when we would argue about football.  To him, this is easy.  Star Wars wins 7-6.  I rarely use numbers as the heart of my arguments.

The death match story revealed a couple of things to me as it unfolded.  For one, it was very easy to pair off similar characters.  Again, the stories are quite similar.  Another thing I noticed was where the strength of characters were.  What I mean by that is it became apparent to me that the heroes of LotR were more heroic than those of Star Wars and the villains of Star Wars were more villainous than those of LotR.  Allow me to elaborate…  We saw in Episode III (Revenge of the Sith) that Anakin began tilting toward the dark side with the death of his mother when vengeance seeped into his heart.  He finalized this transition from light to dark when he lost Padme.  Luke never had to suffer that type of loss.  Yes, he lost loved ones, but he didn’t lose his mother and his lady love.  In the death matches, Luke lost his sister.  This drove him to darkness.  When Aragorn faced Luke, this descent into darkness proved his undoing.  Similarly, Gandalf’s persistent selflessness in attempting to save Middle Earth gave him the resolve to destroy the powerful Yoda.  Who is apparently a Gremlin.  On the other side of the coin, the evil of the Sith overpowered the evil of Sauron…. I’m going to ignore the part where Vader achieved redemption because it screws up my argument.  My point is that this category of characters should not be decided by the quantity of characters left standing.  The category of characters should be decided by strength of character.  And Lord of the Rings won at that.

Hey, Denny- I have issued an argument that may not be strong, but is so unfollowable that you have no choice but to concede defeat.  You have lost.  What do you have to say about that?  (see Brad\’s response)

Because Brad Denny prefers stats, I will end my argument with these numbers:

Three…

were given to the Elves, immortal, wisest… fairest of all beings.

Seven…

to the Dwarf Lords, great miners and craftsmen of the mountain halls.

Nine…

nine rings were gifted to the race of Men who, above all else, desire power.

For within these rings was bound the strength and will to govern each race.  But they were all of them deceived.

… for another ring was made.

In the land of Mordor, in the fires of Mount Doom, the Dark Lord Sauron forged in secret a Master Ring to control all others.

… and into this Ring he poured his cruelty, his malice and his will to dominate all life.

One Ring to Rule Them All

This entry was posted in Star Wars vs Lord of the Rings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

